Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2002-07-03 - 1:26 p.m.

Tired, Knowing it all and Respect.

I'm Tired. Burrow down for the winter tired. Terrible sleep over vacation and no chance since to recoup. Between weird bed syndrome and the munchkin there was not one good night. With 2 beds in the room he wants one of us with him. And he's cuddly. I spent lots of time pushing little legs and arms off me in the night. The one night he decided to sleep in the other bed was the one he woke up at 1:15 wanting a drink. I of course took 3 hours to get back to sleep. The one night we both crashed early I forgot his alergy medicine and he had a major sneezing fit at 4:15 am. Sigh.

Tonight is a show with the best babe, so no luck catching up tonight. And I am not one of the fortunate with Friday off, I just get the mid-week stutter day. Followed by one seriously dead at work day.

And it is dead. I know there are people in this organization who are busy, but I am not one of them. I am bored and I feel pretty guilty about it. There was supposed to be training for us for the next month, but I have a feeling that is a big lie. Another promise that will never be fulfilled.


So today Black Bear asked why adults follow directions worse than kids. I think that's an easy one and it doesn't have to do with practice. For this one there are 3 kinds of people: the ones who follow the directions, the ones who don't because they think they know better how to do it, and the ones who don't because they think they're supposed to know how to do it without help. Of course what the last two groups are doing taking classes if they're not going to listen is another thing entirely.

I think it's different with kids because they really do want to learn and they aren't ashamed of not knowing. That frees them to actually follow the instructions, provided they aren't so hyper or distracted that they can't listen.


At work yesterday the princess suprised me by saying how much she wishes she worked in New York. I was somewhat amazed. I never would have guessed. So here is a person who went to college locally (not at name schools), and who has only worked one place (here for 15 years), and she wants to compete in the business equivalent of the big leagues. It kind of boggles the mind. I guess she holds her abilities in greater regard than the rest of us do.

It's not that I don't like her. I do, actually. I just don't generally see her worth as an employee. She is supposed to be the functional expert on the business for the technology group, but mostly that means she calls the people who actually do the work and asks them questions. She doesn't have any technology background. She is neither a network person, a database person or an application person. Most of what I've seen her do is secretarial. And she's good at talking on the phone. Definitely queen of the conference call.


So what did I learn today. I've been asking myself that every day that I read Black Bear. Today I'm not sure what I've learned. Maybe that the quickest way to rid your desk of paper clutter is to spill a soda all over it. Makes you prioritize really quickly as to what you need to save.

Yep, it's been that kind of day...

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen