Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2002-05-09 - 1:35 p.m.

That word on my forehead and other adventures.

So last night I went to my second ever pta meeting. If you will recall during my first one I became a committee. I think they were amazed that I had actually updated the web site as promised. I've learned an important thing about how this organization works in just 2 meetings. First it is relatively inaccessible to new people. They want new people. They don't see how inaccessible they are, so they keep doing things in a way that perpetuates the inaccessiblity.

Like next years officers. What happens is someone becomes the "nominating committee". There is no notice put out to the school families. She just basically takes her list of jobs and talks to people trying to fill them. When she gets takers for all or most of the spots on the list she presents the slate of officers. These are then accepted by the current pta and presented to the school at an event or function. No prior notice is given that this will occur. Yikes. My one goal is to help them see how inaccessible they are.

I'll have a nice inside spot from which to do that. They were going down the slate of officers. They mentioned that the volunteer for treasurer was not certain because they need dispensation from their job to do accounting for anyone else. I offered that I could do that if the candidate fell through. Man it was like heyenas smelling blood. They tried to talk me into president. "Uhm no," I said, "this is only my second meeting. I don't think I'm comfortable with that." There was much wrangling. People in some positions changed to others. In the end I will be the secretary in the new school year.


The cold that wouldn't die is finally winding down. Tuesday featured nonstop sinus headaches. Yesterday was pretty snotty, but today is just an annoying bit of stuffy left with general malaise (which may or may not be cold related).


I saw an orange car today. Like the red-orange crayon in the 64 pack of crayolas (have they renamed that one?). It looked obsurd. It made me laugh.


Waiting with baited breath for the Mandatory Staff Meeting.

Things I hate about my work now:

The boss is so involved with being a big wig he no longer works on the things he is in charge of. Heaven help us if we need him for something.

We are all like so much furniture now. The only one he talks to is the princess and our admin, and for the admin that is usually prefaced by him screaming her name from down the hall.

There are too many people in and out of our office. It used to be quiet around here, now it's like a freeway at rush hour.

Bobble boss continuously storms into the princesses office and closes the door. I catch bits of the conversation: 'things are going to pick up now', 'that will stir things up', 'j*** p**** agrees with me'. Tantalizing tidbits, but I'm learning that things that are major drama to him are real yawns to me.


If you happened to miss the word it is "SUCKER".

TTFN.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen