Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2002-04-24 - 11:37 a.m.

Different Ways of Dealing.

Last Night the electricity went off in the house sometime shortly before 2am. So Deb, you might ask, why do you know that when you're a 10pm bedtime kind of girl?

DH uses a CPAP for his sleep apnea. It is sort of like sleeping with a vacuum cleaner running under the bed all night. Pretty noticeable when it goes off.

So DH is up and moving right away. First off he is completely convinced that he can not sleep without the machine. No how, no way. So he's going to check the neighborhood to see if the lights are off anywhere else. Whatthef***? It's the middle of the night. What the heck does he expect to see?

I tried to regain sleep, but discovered I was completely awake. So I toddled downstairs, grabbed a flashlight and called BGE. I was treated to the nice computer voice informing me that the outage had already been reported, and a crew would be dispatched to fix it. All the while DH is strolling through the neighborhood at 2am to see who has power.

I toddled back to bed. DH informs me that it is only our block out. I inform him that I have called the power company. He leaves to wait it out downstairs.

I slept until the electricity came back on - DH, of course, did not think to turn off the loud appliance. Flip the switch, doze, then wake up yet again when DH returns to the room and takes his clothes off to return to bed, and starts the cpap again.

Most amusing was this morning when he said "we've had too many strange power outages in this neighborhood." Uhm, we've had 2. In over a year and a half.

Snooore.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen