Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2002-01-30 - 7:07 p.m.

I gotta get a thicker skin...

Today I spent the last hour of my work day pouting. I have vowed to never again pick up the help desk line unless the boss tells me I have to. I'm sure that I'm being hypersensitive but I have had enough.

Middle of last year we acquired the office next door to ours. We knocked out the wall and made our "entry office" twice as big, plus we added an additional private office. Monday we finally got furniture in. So they moved the new employee (who had been a temp) from the random open spot she'd been sitting in, to our offices.

My thought was great, now I don't have to be the only person to pick up the phone when the admin and help desk guy wander off. Except that she claims to be unable to capture the phone calls - but I don't know why that would be.

I ended up picking a call that was ringing and ringing and it was a simple question/request. I go to the techs and they give an answer. I call the user back and tell her - and get yelled at for 2 or 3 minutes. Then she caught herself and appologized. And said by the way Amy's machine has gone on the fritz can you get someone down here to help her.

Sounds simple. And I wasn't too bent about being yelled at, she was nice enough to realize what she was doing and stop after all. So I go in to the techs and tell them about Amy. One completely ignores me the other holds up his hands and says "I'm not touching her machine". Oookay.

So I tell the admin (who keeps the help log list) about Amy's issue ... and get blasted for 2 or 3 minutes about how she'd just tell Amy to reboot because Amy's doing something she shouldn't be anyway but she won't call Amy because no one deals with Amy anymore. Geeze. I can't believe I'm getting blasted for reporting a help desk call. Finally the admin says "tell the boss, he deals with Amy". Fine. I tell the boss. I think they eventually sent the young tech to fix her.

But geeze why did they all give me a hard time? This after the boss spent the morning randomly yelling (I thought at the techs, but they told me he was actually yelling at webguy who was out sick again). Then I get to argue with a receptionist in the other building that the person I just hung up the phone with really was in the office today (receptionist insisted that she must have called me from her home -- huh?). Then yelled at by the users. Then yelled at by my co-workers.

Damn it I'm the DBA not a help desk tech no more phones for me!

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen