Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2002-01-07 - 7:18 p.m.

What passes for normal.

Back to the old grind here at chez bean. I threw out the last of the christmas cookies (probably 4 dozen or so but just too stale to keep eating). Yesterday I disassembled the holiday decorations. So now it seems we are back to what passes for normal around here.

Work was a bizarre place today. Seems they powered down the operations center over the weekend (that would be the home of the central mainframe), and didn't bother to warn us. Got in and all of our communications to said mainframe were totally wonkus. Even when they were restored somewhat, it took another couple hours to get them working correctly. Now we have probably 150 people who need to be reconfigured because their settings were blown away. I actually felt kind of sorry for boss-man, he looked totally wiped.

I've decided that the thing that pisses me off about my job is that just about everyone there has the work ethic of a 12 year old. I mean they do just as much as they have to, complain constantly and leave as soon as the boss is not looking. The only difference in the bosses work ethic is that he acts like some sort of princely potentate that deserves to work little, leave early and be lord and master. I may start doing some casual job looking. They just changed the 401K vesting, so I won't lose all the matching money if I leave before 5 years (the previous policy).

Feeling pretty happy all in all. Hope everyone else is too!

TTFN

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen