Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2001-12-05 - 9:06 p.m.

I could have sworn I wasn't doing anything right ...

So I had weight watchers tonight. Not only did the previous 8 cheater pounds stay gone, I was down another pound. I can not for the life of me think of how this could be possible. I had no preapproved cheater methods left and still my weight was down. Weird.

I'm not complaining it's just that I haven't been keeping good track and I'm sure I've been over by 10 to 20 points every day and still I lose? Makes me feel even more guilty about eating chocolate from the bosses candy dish. Darn him. He lives near Hershey so he's always bringing in gigantic bags of kisses, peanutbutter cups, miniatures. I love that stuff.

The discussion was about what lessons we could take from our previous successes. I swear I couldn't think of one. My first serious WW attempt I lost 45 pounds. But I had a falling out with the leader of the group that I had been going to and it was harder to do a different time so I peetered out. I had some on again off again attempts after that but the next serious attempt was when I did Atkins. I lost 50 pounds. Unfortunately 35 of those jumped right back on when I stopped following it religiously (ie having pizza occasionally, a piece of fruit now and then). I really tried to do a maintenance version but ended up almost to the top. When I finally gave up completely I bounced to and above my upper number.

For the life of me I can't find anything to help me now. Those episodes were marked by a strong commitment which I haven't been able to muster this time. My commitment now is that I bought 10 weeks in advance. I figure at least it will keep me going back.

Maybe just cutting back to "normal overeating" (you know, handfuls of bosses candy but no bi-weekly pints of Ben & Jerry's) is still letting me lose some weight. Now if I could just figure out where I've left my commitment I'd be set. Sigh.

I guess I'll have to take my inspiration from the many hokey quotes in my brain from self-help books I've read. I hate that "nothing tastes as good as thin feels" quote. I've never been thin so it is stupid to me. So today I'll take: "You can have anything you want, you just can't have everything you want". It's not particularly a weight loss quote, but it sure works well as one.

TTFN.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen