Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2001-11-13 - 8:45 p.m.

School Days.

Yesterday was open house day at munchkin's school for American Education Week. So instead of the long list of chores I was anticipating, I went to school for the afternoon.

I arrived after table time when I was sure they'd be into a lesson. I've been wondering how the day goes - you really have no idea when you just get a vast mass of papers at the end of the week. Whose idea was that anyway. By the time they come home on Friday, munchkin has no idea what he did.

The best part was that I got to sneak in without him seeing me. I watched the lesson (on the pilgrims & Plymouth) then when they came to the tables to work on a paper I slipped across the room in the confusion. Munchie was nearly finished his "test" by the time he noticed me. He was flirting shamelessly with another mom too. Grinning at her and batting his eyes - it was so funny.

Seemed like they sat on the rug for a lesson, sprinted to the tables for a worksheet, back to the rug for their letter, sprint to the tables for a worksheet, repeat. Then off to media center, except the 3 IEP kids (including my munch). They stayed back and played a cool letter fishing game. Then off to media to write their "wish lists" for the book sale. It was so sad they just didn't understand. They each kept trying to choose a book to take with them and they were so sad when they couldn't take it.

By the time we got back to class it was nearly time to go. I know they didn't get through it all.

My observations:

Everything was way too rushed.

My kid is a terrible copier. He never took his eyes off his neighbors paper.

My kid is a remedial scissors user.

Every kid wants to use the markers.

Even "grown up kindergarteners" sometimes cry when they don't get the sparkly pencil.

So that was my day.

Oh yeah and today I took the car in to the shop for a recall and they claim to have found my rattle. Of course it hasn't rattled for 2 weeks ...

Sigh.

TTFN

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen