Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2001-10-29 - 7:11 p.m.

Just a Reminder...

I grew up with this amazing vision of my life to come. My friend Sue used to describe it as an "Earth Mother" life. I'd live on a big plot of land with my organic garden, baking my own bread and raising a herd of children. (Ok everyone who knows me can quit giggling).

Funny how things don't work out quite how you envision them. I'm not even sure that I could have made that lifestyle work if I'd started at 22 like I envisioned. So here I am a stressed out computer programmer, mother of one, wife to a second. I do have a garden, I can bake (though I rarely have time) and I just don't seem to have the temperment for passels of children.

Every now and again I get really wistful about the multiple kids thing. I am, however, 40 and like I'm fond of saying -- I'm maxed out at one and DH was maxed out before we even started. So I definitely have the antidote now to that longing inside -- Babysitting.

I watched one of my grand-nephews and grand-nieces. So I spent a long Sunday with a 5 year old, 2 1/2 year old and 6 month old. If I volunteer to do this again, just shoot me. It was INTENSE. I have never had to deal with that much at once. And this while they were really good.

The 6 month old was a bit fussy at first but took a 1 1/2 hour nap and was happy as a clam for the next 3 hours or so. The 2.5 was great. Played happily, asked for nothing. The only issue was when we were outside he whacked his face on the ladder to the slide and got a bloody lip. Heck my 5 year old needed more than either of the others -- although part of that is dealing with the cast.

Still after 7 hours I was completely wiped. I figure I'm cured of baby lust for at least a year on that one. Yikes


Oh yeah, and the weather held on Saturday and we went to the Boo at the Zoo and it was great! Nothing like it -- I've never seen the big cats up and at 'em like they are at night. Growling and everything. The bats were really active too! There were lots of stops for treats -- although some of the treats were a bit odd depending on the "treat sponsor". We got candy and yogurt and juice boxes and ice cream and apples. We passed on the soy crunch and tofu and soymilk. Although we did get some weird vita-goo stuff. I just wish munchie had held up better so we could have seen more! Maybe next year.

TTFN!

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen