Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2001-09-25 - 7:06 p.m.

Trees and trips.

Missed yesterday due to the massive storm down our way. Boy was I glad to read Gen's accounting of the damage down at College Park. I was hoping everyone escaped unscathed. We just had a heck of a blow with lots of flickering lights. Enough for me to just say no to computer use. Heck it actually flipped the breaker on my stove in mid-dinner cooking. Lots of minor damage in the area. Mostly trees and fences.


I'm really counting down for my trip to London. I'm getting so excited I can practically taste it. What flavor?, you ask. Probably alcholic, people don't generally travel to the UK for the cuisine. (Although the Two Fat Ladies could really cook, though now sadly down to one.)

The admin at work is horrified that I am still planning to travel. Same with another officemate who is planning a trip to Disney the week after my little jaunt. She keeps asking the boss to take away our leave because she's scared for us. I don't think he'd consider it, but if he did I think I would very quietly say "you don't really want to start a battle with me, do you?" He's pretty sloppy about his vices and pretty much everyone in the office knows where the bodies are buried, so to speak.

So many people are scared to travel now. It's pretty sad. In case you wonder how I can so boldly face travel, it's a simple 3 part equation. First, if we give in, they win. Not gonna happen! Second, there are literally millions of ways to go. I'd rather be pursuing a dream than straining on the toilet or something equally unsavory. Finally (and this is the one I told the admin) I think that if you really truely believe in God, and not just the lip service crap so many indulge in, then you have to accept that your fate is always in the palm of his hand. I personally believe that I am in his care no matter where I go and he controls the Fate's shears. When my thread is cut that's it. Here, there, or in the air.


Still lots of tasks on the agenda, but I really feel a load off after the Birthday party. Next up is to finish the trim in the train room, as we now have a delivery date for the flooring. It could wait, but I'm a pretty messy painter. Better to paint over concrete where possible.

TTFN

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen