Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2001-08-25 - 7:18 p.m.

Back from the beach.

I'm back from the week of family vacation at the beach. I really love the beach. I love the water, waves, sand, sound, smell - all of it.

I'm somewhat less fond of a week with my in-laws. However, how can you argue with a free week at the beach. Mom cooked. All I had to do was the dishes. And while my husband got the requisite lecture on the mistakes we are making with our child's upbringing - she left me alone. Completely. I wonder if she knows instinctively that I would tear her a new asshole if she tried it with me.

So other than the fact that we still let our four year old drink from a no-spill cup (which you think she'd appreciate what with the oriental rugs and all) and we let him drink too much milk, everything seems to be ok. I don't get the drinking issues. Everyone seems to have a problem with the fact that my kid likes milk. Really likes it. He prefers it to juice and I refuse to feed him sugar water aka Koolaide, Hi-C etc. This time my mil decided he was going to get a vitamin deficiency from drinking too much milk. Yep, she told DH that munchkin was going to get Rickets from drinking all that milk. Doh! I laughed so hard since rickets is a Vitamin D deficiency. Oh Yeah.

That wasn't the best quote of the vacation either! We were talking about marriage and she said that she didn't understand about living together (old time Roman Catholic, so I get it). Then she said it was such a shame because the man could just leave and then the woman is left alone and with no support at all. Uh mom, this is the twenty first century - the women usually work too.


I did manage to meet my vacation goal - I slept, and when I had been up for a couple of hours, I slept some more. Nine hours a night (give or take since munchkin couldn't sleep through) and a nap on something like 5 out of 7 afternoons. Plus I read 2 books for fun. What's not to like!

Glad to be back, though. Home is very comfortable and it is mine.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen