Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2001-08-13 - 7:22 p.m.

Random Notes from a Happy Weekend

I feel like I've got a ton of things floating around in my head, so I figured I'd do one fairly long, slightly incoherent posting to clean house.


I had my little cancer spot removed on Friday. There's a basic part of me (well trained by my parents death) that wants to really lose it over the word cancer. Like it should be an all caps word - CANCER. On the other hand the whole thing was kind of a non-event.

I went to the doctor, sat on a table, was numbed in the shoulder and he scooped a chunk out. Stitched me, bandaged me and sent me on my way. Seems like it should be more dramatic than that.

Of course I know he gathered up the tissue he removed to be checked out. It's pretty clear that it's cancer, I guess it just needs to be verified that it is the peaceful homesteading cancer as opposed to the kind bent on conquering the system by launching vile attacks on vulnerable body systems.

Either way, he wouldn't budge on the length of time the stitches are in, so I will have to seek out another agent of stitch removal while on vacation at the shore. Wonderful. That's the whole thing, so far just a minor inconvenience.


So I went to Pennsic for the weekend (how's that for a segway). After my whiney note a couple of weeks ago, I got the annual "come on, you can stay in my tent" response from dear Keilyn. Much to everyones suprise, including my own, I took her up on it.

Some random impressions:

My God, it's gotten big, they've gotten organized too. There are vastly more Period tents than there were 5 years ago. There are also vastly more distracting modernities (loved the chainsaw next door). People have engineered some truely amazing amenities. For everything that has changed, so much has stayed the same.

For the actual event all I can say is that a weekend is way too short. I left at oh-my-god in the morning on saturday, arrived on site by 9:30 and left by 2:30 on Sunday. It was a bit brutal. I also "packed light" which means that I didn't really have the things I needed to be comfortable - although buying a chair there helped. I also have an astonishing bruise on my lower back which I attribute to sleeping on the exceptionally hard and lumpy ground of the Serengeti. I do, however, have great respect for the folks from Drachenwald who have made due with what will fit in their luggage trans-atlantic plus what they can borrow, or afford to buy and leave behind. They have fewer ammenities, but such a wonderful and adventuresome attitude toward the whole thing.

Amazingly I got a small dose of nearly all of the Pennsic ammenties. A bit of time shopping. A walk around the lake and up the runestone field. A rocking party hauled into camp by some seriously crazy Outlanders including a drink cooler of Margaritas, chips & salsa and 2 cheesy sombreros. Some random camp visiting and people watching. Vlad's slave auction. Evil politics. Amusing drunks. Watching some dancing at the barn. Just about everything except combat, now that I think of it. And no court. All the royalty I saw were just letting it all hang out.

So now I have had a Keilyn fix which I desperately needed (ack! and we forgot to do the ATM thing, sorry). My dearest Keilyn looks well and has some exceptionally entertaining friends from "across the pond". While I miss her dearly here, I understand the attraction to staying there. Everyone I met was delightful. But I will never again shop with Ormswyn (however you spell it!), even though he makes a fine and amusing drunk - albeit a very large one.

Everyone should be required to spend a little time in Drachenwald camp, if only to listen to the amazing conversations that groups of Swedish fighters have (this is just a random phonetic attempt at re-creation) "ern d splern d flat snap to the helm d splern d fern d". They are an amusing group. Particularly Cormak and Sigusmund.

I also had the most wonderful and thought provoking conversation with the lovely Helena from the Shire in South Africa. It was about being very far from home and everyone speaking a language that is not one's native tongue. I am also embarassed by how well all these folk spoke english - If I know even 5 people who are that bi-lingual, I'd be suprised. Every one of the folks I met in camp were fluently bilingual or multilingual. For many I would never have guessed that something other than English was there first language. And that goes for Swedes, Fins and my lovely new Afrikaner friend.

I saw many, though not all of my friends. I missed some by timing and some by lack of time. I also was amazed at how many people did not recognise me - until Keilyn pointed out that I was swathed in veil, hat and shades and was therefore not particularly recognizable. So if I missed you or if you're just now thinking - so that's who was with Keilyn, sorry I should have spoken up.

I am struck by how much older we're getting. To see Young Tony - little just doesn't work any more - was jarring, but the real kicker was a much grayer Vis. Nothing like seeing your peers age to drive home the number of candles on your own cake.


I had a wonderful time, but I'm glad to be home - I really missed the munchkin, and I do love my comfortable house. Pennsic is good for that. It also reminded me of the great joys of real beds and flushies. I was there less than 30 hours and definitely worse for the whole port-a-john experience.


Now my head is spinning and floating with plans for what I should make and build to play SCA better. I'll probably start small with a new dress for Coronation, but by next Pennsic who knows!

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen