Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2006-11-20 - 1:05 p.m.

Plenty of Nothing.

When I list out the things I did this weekend it's a pretty long list. When I list out the things I accomplished it's pitifuly small.

I did manage to finally rake and weed the two back gardens, cover the veggie garden with weedblocker and mulch the shade garden. I did the requisite metric ton of laundry. I went to a movie with the boys.

I didn't run any of the errands on my list. I didn't weed the catalog collecion. I didn't work on my resume or check out the job sites. Sigh. There's a ton of things to do and I didn't do any of them.

Now it's back to the regular grind. It's a strange week, being turkey day and all, but I'm only off on the day so mostly it's same ole, same ole.

I think despite my efforts not to, I'm going to have to start my mornings earlier. I'm finding that getting back from the gym, bathing, dressing, getting lunch ready and eating breakfast is just not humanly possible in the 50-55 minutes that I currently have. Sigh. I don't really want to wake up at 5 but I don't see any other way.

This afternoon we have a parent/teacher conference. The boy got a good report card with 2 big exceptions. Pretty much every behavior grade is needs improvement (except homework which we supervise). He also totally blew spelling and language mechanics. Hubs has upped the study time for spelling which may or may not be helping.

My big problem with the whole thing is how little he cares about how he writes. We had a huge fight last night because I corrected the spelling on his book essay. His handwriting is attrocious and add in the crappy assed spelling and it was unreadable. He was utterly indignant that I would correct him. Apparently when they were doing the sheet while I was at Spanish, hubs never did. But really the kid was spelling anything with an e and hope as hop. He knows better he just doesn't care. Time to try to find a way to get through to him I care less about the bad grade than the implication that he doesn't care enough to do his best. Spelling is something that can be checked, capitalization and punctuation aren't that hard. I need to try and make him see that trying and failing is no shame but failing because you couldn't be bothered is.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen