Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2006-11-11 - 10:23 p.m.

Not so lazy after all.

Today I intended to be a lump. Run a couple errands and not much else. I slept super late and started easily down the road to sloth. The boys were another story. They were outside early raking.

I ran my errands, they raked some more. I ate my lunch and they started bagging leaves with the leaf blower/suckers that we have. I played some on the computer and heard the big one go outside, after which the little one bugged me for a turn on the machine. I asked if he was going to help his father finish and he said no, but then got huffy because he wasn't called when work resumed (not that it changed his answer from no to yes).

I looked out the window. There was tons more to suck. The hubs was obviously sore and obviously frustrated as the leaves kept getting stuck in the machine. I decided to put aside my sloth, so I went out to help.

I hadn't meant to get involved, this is one of his few big chores. He does grass; I do all the hedging, trimming and flowerbeds. I know, though that the only reason he does it is for me. Because I care that the leaves don't kill the grass. I seriously doubt he could care less if it were just him. Yard work is just noisy, dirty and tiring. Dead grass would just mean less to mow.

He was about out of steam, so I came in as relief. Turns out one of the sucker bags broke which is why he didn't call the boy out again. Undeterred I worked around it and about an hour and a half later it was done. Hubs kept asking if I was sore, but I wasn't. He however, was totally beat. So I explained - me 1.5 hours, him about 7 hours not counting breaks. No contest.

So there it is. The back yard is mostly leafless and there are around 20 bags for the recycle. We still have to do the front, but that damn tree holds it's leaves until the bitter end.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen