Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2006-08-13 - 4:39 p.m.

Left Turn at Albequerque

Funny how sometimes you can get an idea in your head of how things will go and when you're actually out there being and doing they take that classic left turn and you end up somewhere else. So it seems to be lately. Here's hoping the rabbit hole doesn't pop up in the middle of the collesium or some such like Bugs' always did.

The weather is paying us back nicely for the torture that was July. We even ate out on the deck after I burned a couple steaks on the grill (I wish I were joking about that - I only turned my back for a second...). We had corn from the farm stand at the entrance to my neighborhood, and watermelon for desert. Just a lovely day and evening.

I ordered new glasses yesterday. My first bifocals. They tried to sell me on the no-line version but frankly I didn't care enough to pay the extra. I'll get them next week, apparently bifocals are no longer 1 hour glasses.

I also checked out a new gym yesterday. Thursday night I had gone to the little local gym. It has a decent selection of machines a selection of classes and a little 3 lane lap pool. Not bad and close enough I could swap my morning workout from the ladies only place to there with no changes. For me alone it would be a no-brainer. The hubs mentioned interest, though so I needed to consider that too.

The sibs-in-law rave about the big gym one town over so I decided to have a look see there. It's huge. It has awesome facilities. It's further away - I'll need to get up earlier if I'm using it in the am, but unlike the other it has an appeal as a family destination. So today I sent the hubs over to check it out too. He thinks we should sign up the family. The pools alone are worth it and if I can keep my kid swimming regularly it would be a very good thing. That's on my list for tomorrow as they repeatedly emphasized the prices change on the 15th.

Also on the changes list. I signed up for a non-credit class this fall. The community college is offering a "Community Spanish" class. It's billed as more words and phrases, less grammar. I figure it will be useful to brush up a bit prior to the trip to Mexico in the winter.

Now all I need to do is pin down the fall engagements and I'll be all set. I know there's a kids party one weekend, another trip to the in-laws and a trip to visit my sis in NY, I just need to pin down when these things happen so I can see what else I have time for.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen