Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2006-08-04 - 12:04 p.m.

Milestone.

So I broke my database. I spent last night fixing it. There are still some lingering issues this morning. I want it to be over and done.

Last night, however, I left work for a couple hours for a milestone. It was the overnight for the Nature Camp. It was deemed too hot for tents but they decided to have it any way but in the local community center instead. After much discussion with the boy I sent in the permission slip for him to attend.

By dinner time, he'd reconsidered. I pulled rank on that one and told him since I'd already said he was going, he had to go. We packed his things in the requested garbage bag (though on reflection it makes sense since kids aren't too good at re-rolling sleeping bags) and went off to the evening program. Skits and songs and hugs and kisses.

When it was time to say goodbye he came very close to crying. The poor little critter has never been away from both DH and I for a night. Never. He held it together but just barely. When he left he said "now you can watch whatever show you want tonight, mommy". Of course what I really got to do was come back to work for a couple more hours.

Today after a night of hyper kids and perky college student counsellors he goes "cosmic bowling" with the after care. Here's hoping like heck that he had a good time.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen