Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2006-06-02 - 11:46 a.m.

Beginners.

So last night was the big band concert. They did really well. The show was beginning strings then beginning band. All of the performers had just begun playing their instruments at the end of September. Usually that means a pretty painful show, but this group was pretty darn good. There was one strings song that was screechy but that can be forgiven when you realize you're watching a stage full of 8 and 9 year olds.

The band played a song that featured the trombone section. They not only stood, but they stood in front of the band with no music and played the song. No way I could have done that at such a young age. I was so proud of the boy I could just bust. He did really well and if he had fumbles they were minor.

I was a little suprised to find that my boy who is doing so well at the trombone was actually the 4th of the 4 trombones. The others were really excellent especially for beginners. Mine is always so unsure of himself I can understand how he'd end up last after hearing the group.

I had told the boy I was excited to hear how the songs sounded with all the other instruments playing. In the end it was funny because though I could hear the others but all I really heard were the trombones. I guess that's from months of just hearing his part.

Just before the show started a thunderstorm rolled through. It didn't cause any problems for the string players, but as the band was getting in place the lights started flickering. The principal was talking about how the power would probably go out and that would end the evening. I was horrified. I was sure I'd just bust if I didn't get to hear them play. Luckily the lights held, not just for the show but for the school enrichment fair afterwards.

We topped the night off with celebratory ice cream cones. Now it feels like the school year is ending.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen