Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2006-05-17 - 4:10 p.m.

Hi Ho, Hi Ho.

Work has been pretty busy this week. Other than some serious slack this morning I've been zipping around a good bit. Managed to even miss lunch today which never happens.

The reason is my job has changed. I'm doing something totally new and still finding my way in this area. For a brief time I was slated to do the same work but go to work under someone else. He's the new guy and he's nice. It was enticing, the idea of working for someone nice. My boss is many things, but nice would not be anyone's first choice of words to describe him. However, at the last minute just prior to nice, my boss made some changes. He wanted me to work in an entirely different area than I ever have and stay under him instead.

Strangely, despite the option to decline, I went with the evil I know rather than nice. Suprising considering how much I complain about the boss. Yesterday as I sat in a meeting with nice and former minion and my boss, I realized it was the right call. Minion is still minion. Needy, haphazard and all talk no action. Nice is pretty methodical but seems to draw heavily on prior experience. Maybe there's more than meets the eye but he doesn't strike me as all that bright or mentally agile. From what I've seen I think he'd make me crazy really fast. I find it far easier to work for a brilliant asshole than a nice idiot.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen