Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2006-03-07 - 8:34 p.m.

P in TA

First, many thanks to Mimi for the now and forever association I have of the PTA and a Pain in The A.

If I had to pick one thought to encapsulate my philosophy of life it would probably be "Put up or shut up". I've always felt that if I want something I should be willing to do the work to make it happen. Conversely if I am not willing to do the work I have no right to criticise the efforts of others. Why oh why, dear lord, do so few people share that philosophy?

Tonight one person was opining on the many afterschool activities offered at the school she works at. I said that it sounded great and we'd love to offer them too, if we had people to run them. She snapped "the PTA runs them". Doh. While I've sometimes felt like the PTA had a life of it's own, I have yet to see it accomplish anything as an independent entity. What planet is this chick from? I calmly pointed out that there still had to be an individual who was willing to do the organizing but she was really pissy about it.

I only made it through tonight's meeting thinking: "Three more meetings, just keep your mouth shut." Over and over and over.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen