Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2005-12-09 - 3:29 p.m.

True Colors.

The PTA has been an ongoing source of irritation this year. From the constant pestering of the new president to the outright dissing of last year's efforts I've been pissed for most of the fall. As time goes on, however, everyone's eyes are being opened.

The carnival committee who thought last year's event was crap just sent out a whiney email threatening to cancel this year's because they can't get enough volunteers. Well duh! Why do you think we did not do very ambitious things last year. Plus none of us who worked on last year's will touch this year's with a ten foot pole after the way they dissed us.

Then the esteemed president (who was going to bring in all these great new ideas) had managed several big boo boos. First he neglected to get the books audited (one of only 3 things he's responsible for). He keeps trying to push it onto others. He's emailed me asking why I didn't do it and at the dinner we had Tuesday he tried to make it the treasurer's issue. Doofus. You don't take responsibility for the books until you audit them to be sure they're ok. The treasurer and past president can't do it because we signed all the checks.

Then Mr do nothing said he thought he should cancel the golf tournament he wants to hold in the spring. He wasn't sure how the money could be spent so he didn't want that conflict. I think he just doesn't want to do anything.

Last meeting (which I sat out) he managed to totally alientate the staff of the school. He implied that the Staff Appreciation committee was only aimed at staff who joined the PTA. What a dope.

Most recent amusement (to me) I posted to the PTA discussion list an article about the Principal receiving an award. It was from her previous position but it's a somewhat prestigious national recognition. Fearless leader responded to the list with the following: "whatever". I immediately received a private email suggesting I remind him how lists work, which I did. I just wonder what the principal (also a member of the list) thinks.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen