Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2005-11-20 - 3:39 p.m.

On the Road Again.

Yesterday I loaded up the boy and headed north. Our destination was a little spot north of Philly named for Frederick the Great. We were headed to the home of a very large mall. In addition we got to visit with some very lovely people. First our gracious host Pratt, our lovely inspiration Dichroic on a visit home for the holiday, and the supporting cast of LA and Bozoette Mary.

My first reaction is that all these wonderful people have very attractive spouses. Rudder has that clean cut boy next door look going. LA's Mike is the opposite all long hair and quiet rebellion. Bozoette's Joe has that unassuming bald man hotness. And Mrs Pratt! I'm sure Pratt only mentions her looks of death and not her loveliness so no one will know what a looker he's got. Add in one bundle of blonde cuteness (Wolf) and one attractive single brother (Dichroic's) and wow! This was one good lookin' group.

The second realization was that the bunnies are larger than I thought. With the exception of the dainty Princess Jewel, they are big bunnies (I guess I expected them all to be Jewel sized). The bunnies are very cute and very sweet, but were saying a bit of "no thank you" to the crowd. When children are present all small creatures have that instinctive thing about avoiding possible danger. I did get to pet Miss Baxter (such pretty colors!) and the soft soft Princess Jewel, but when Twizzle lodged himself between levels in the bunny box to avoid me, I figured I'd leave him and Greyton be. Also sadly the boy appears to be allergic to the bunnies. He was a veritable snot fiesta in the Prattcave, but it abated once we left.

The drive was uneventful - though I found the use of Camaros as unmarked police cars to be amusing. The directions worked well with just a little futzing at the end because there was a distinct lack of street signs. Finding the house was no problem. I enlisted the boy to help me. "It has bunny statues", I said. So as we drove down the street the boy said "bunny, bunny, bunny, bunny", kind of surreal.

We schmoozed, visited the bunnies, saw the home of Blog of Pratt, enjoyed the lighthouse photo collection, snacked on a lovely spread provided by our host and hostess and were amused by the boys enjoying the leaves on the deck and assorted small child getting to know you rituals.

We repaired to a local brewpub/restaurant after a bit of fun with parking at a very large mall on a saturday afternoon in the holiday season. We settled into a long table by the windows. We talked and laughed and talked and ate and drank and it was really good.

I bugged out first as soon as we finished the meal. It was not my first choice, but once your child mentions the possibility of vomiting it really becomes impossible to focus on the social occasion at hand. We headed home while the rest of the assembled group decided to partake of the wonders of the very large mall. I can't wait to read about what I missed.

Thank you all for a lovely afternoon!

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen