Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2005-11-14 - 3:32 p.m.

Typical.

I go out of the office for a couple hours to visit the boy's class for American Education Week and the damn application I'm responisble for blows up. My Blackberry is on my desk, because I let it run out of juice over the weekend and it's recharging. No one left a phone message, no one tried the cell phone. Instead they created trouble tickets for at least 2 or 3 people (none of them me) and paged someone who is in training this week. In the end it was nothing any of them could have fixed anyway. The problem was that the idiots who run the main accounting system the application feeds marked Friday as a business day so my system sat and waited for the upload file for Friday and wouldn't go on without it. Yeah I changed a date in the database from 11/11 to 11/14 and I'm an f'in hero.

I'm still pretty frustrated by Thursday's debaucle. Idiot 1 (the minion) is happily ensconsed offsite emailing like nothing happened. Idiot 2 (the boss) asked how my day is and I said I had no interest in discussing it with him. He took that to mean I'm having a bad day, which is a lie. I'm having a fine day but I've no intention of discussing squat with him.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen