Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2005-11-11 - 1:51 p.m.

A Long Ramble

So I'm still pretty pissed about yesterday. Not only did I get yelled at and hung up on by this supposed grown-up, by the afternoon my boss was on the phone offering to try and make it all better for him. Boss wants to create a job for minion where he can do what he really wants to do. Let me tell you that really toasts my coconut.

Today's a day off, so I have a nice long three day weekend to get pissed off about it over and over again. In conjunction with offering to make it all better for minion, the more interesting technical parts of his current job were offered to the new guy on our team. He's been with the company forever and is protected because his family is a big customer. He is pleasant but fairly opinionated and extremely ineffective. He hasn't done squat since we moved our network off Novell.

What I'm left with is that familiar feeling of what about me. In my heart of hearts I'm a spoiled brat. I want to raise a fuss and kick my feet and scream and yell like minion did. In my brain I feel relatively certain that no one would put up with that shit from me and I'd end up in an even worse place. So it makes me angry, but it's that subtle muttering under my breath anger. It leads me to be passive agressive and self destructive. I think I eat my anger - and if you've met me you can tell how angry I usually am.

In this case I'm thinking I'll get even instead. If minion want's to direct I've figured out a proposal to let him do just that. A nice round 3 items have already come to mind for his list. I'm going to ask boss to put him in charge of three things. All the planning, all the tasking and some or all of the tasks depending. He can rise or fall on the basis of his performance. I'm thinking he'll tank because, quite frankly, in his couple years with the company he has yet to show any initiative at all.

I firmly believe in these tenets:
Put up or shut up.
No one really wants to hear you whine.
and
If you really want something done you'd better be prepared to do it or pay for it.

So minion violated number one and the PTA is stepping all over 2 & 3. I swear when I was president the damn PTA didn't require this much time and energy. These freakin' people are wearing me out. There is a constant string of emails just among the officers fussing on this and that. When I missed the November meeting 2 of them felt the need to check up on me. (Apparently it never occured to them that I'd miss a meeting because they are driving me nuts.) Now they want to have an officer's meeting next month because they really wanted to have December meeting but no one had the balls to overrule the principal when she said there wasn't one. I can't think of anything less useful than a PTA officers meeting. I know it will turn into some damn circle jerk on the topic of power and our role in the school. Just too stupid.

That was cathartic. Maybe I'll have pretty things to say later.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen