Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2005-09-30 - 8:59 p.m.

Lots of Something Different.

I was awakened at 4am. The boy was awake and apparently that meant I should be awake too. Poor thing definitely does not get nice mommy at 4am. I tucked him in, put his covers on him (who's idea was it to fold them down?) and requested he not get up again. Luckily I was able to get back to sleep. I made up the rest by skipping the morning workout.

Work featured a trip west to Frederick to meet with my new minion. Same as the old minion the boss just can't decide who should work for whom. So his previous supervisor and I went up to do some Secrecy act training and to go over the order of business for switching command from her to me. We followed with an amazing lunch at the restaurant he moonlights at as a bartender. I had what they called Ham and Crab bread. It was a half a subroll sized piece of french bread cut long ways. A layer of ham covered the bread topped with a layer of crab imperial. That was topped with cheese and broiled until bubbily. Oh My Goodness - a definite mouthgasm. We all had desert too which for me was a slice of awesome pecan pie.

Digestion was the hour drive back to the office. I returned to find out that there had been big issues with communications between our sites being down. This screwed up the file transfers to the accounting system. Amazingly the people in charge of the transfer process dealt with it when they couldn't find me. (A rarity!)

Then I zipped home for a family outing to first McDonalds and second a bonfire and marshmallow roast. The bonfire was awesome. our 3 foot long fork was about 5 feet too short, however, to actually roast a marshmallow without roasting the human at the other end. We did manage some s'mores then watched the featured performer. He was good but the sound sucked and the crowd had way too many small children and way to few parents who enforced politeness. Fun but a bit frustrating all around.

I must say, however, that now I desire a fire bowl for the back yard so that I can properly roast some marshmallows and make some s'mores where the chocolate actually melts.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen