Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2005-09-02 - 3:19 p.m.

The Banner Ad!

The JournalCon banner is up and running! I've never used my gold/supergold banners before so I decided to dedicate them to running one for JournalCon. That is also why I've added the button right above the entry, so that anyone who comes here by way of the JournalCon banner can actually get to the JournalCon page.

We're a month and a half away and the attendees list is strangely still pretty sparse. The venue is fabulous, the amenities being offered are excellent and frankly (air fare aside) the prices are aren't bad at all. I will say I'm pretty glad I locked in the air fare early.

With many questions from the relatives, I've given some thought as to why the trip is so appealing to me. First I have to start with joining the journalling community. I did it because many people I know in meatspace joined up to keep in touch. More than half of my buddy list is people I've hung out with (or SCA'ed with) in the past and present.

Other peoples lives, however, were very intriguing. I started with a short list of people I knew and added people who interested me. Then when a few journalers mentioned getting together for the March for Womens Lives I decided to tag along. What a kick it was to meet these lovely women. We "knew" each other online, so we had a basis to start from but there's so much more to share.

Then came the Weetacon mini-con in March. Weet has described some of the most amazingly fun times. I wanted to have that kind of fun. After agonizing about it I took the advice "what's the worst that could happen" and went. It was a great time. Now I had met an even larger group of fun lively interesting people.

JournalCon came along as a no-brainer. I like these people. They are fun. I want to travel a bit and see new places, this gives me a reason to get up and go. And since I'm zooming from one coast to the other I also tacked a trip to Sin City after JournalCon. I loves me some Vegas, afterall.

Not counting down yet, since that will make me to anxious ...

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen