Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2005-08-16 - 9:44 a.m.

A surreal quality to the news.

I went online to the local newspaper. Since local is Washington DC we get sort of a different slant to the news than many hometowns. The photo on the web page was a settler being hauled out of his Gaza strip home. He had on a yellow LiveStrong bracelet. When I see things like that I start to think that earth is just our little neighborhood and if we are ever really going to see the big picture we're going to have to go further out in the universe.

The next news item that caught my eye was that my favorite weekly cathartic experience "Extreme Home Makeover" is in town. The first night in town one of the crew members wives got beaten up by a thug robbing their hotel. Great way to represent the area. In the understatement of the year one of the show spokespersons said "we realize our houses aren't always in the best neighborhoods".

Uhm, yeah.

Just added - This is the oddest obituary I've ever seen.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen