Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2005-07-05 - 10:50 a.m.

Motivation

I turned back in the motivational cd set to the gym today. While I would grade it highly annoying there were a few gems among the many words. He rambled, preached and covered topics that have nothing to do with weight loss. I listened all the way to the end which suprised even me.

I wondered until the last cd why the gym had this set of highly preachy christian cds but the last one told me. Seems the speaker did the first one live at their convention after the owner's brother has seen him and recommended him. He met the owners and decided to include them in his book of successful inspirational christians. And somewhere in there they booked him for a full set of his speeches which they put on cd for their business.

On the minus side according to this guy I will know no success and no joy until I follow the bible. Luckily that was on the last cd or I'd never have finished. I would definitely have had a hard time convincing myself to put another cd in after that sermon.

There was some wisdom there too. The line of his I read ahead of time that convinced me to listen to them was: People say motivation doesn't last. Neither does bathing, that's why we recommend you do it daily.

I also identified with the idea that if you are aiming for nothing that's what you'll hit every time. Goal setting is a real weak spot for me - I'm sure I've said that a hundred times.

He's also big on using your commuting time to better yourself. He calls it automobile university. That struck a real chord with me. I commute around 20 minutes each way. Frequently in silence because there's too much talk and ads on the radio. I had been considering satelite radio to combat that. I decided instead to join an audio books club (sort of Netflix for books on cd). I started out by packing my selection list with self help books. I always buy these kind of books and almost never finish them. After that I'll probably move into classics or maybe a foreign language class. Of course that won't really kick in full scale until after the boy is back at school - he prefers music when we ride to and from camp.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen