Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2005-06-10 - 7:34 p.m.

Tied Up, Deep Knee Bends and Rope Burn.

Today I tied up lots of little girls and boys. (Hey Kathy how's that for Googlebait!) The boy had his 3rd grade picnic. It was a very structured affair. We served the kids burgers, hotdogs, veggies, chips, fruit and cookies. Then they gathered their blankets and things into the designated area and assembled to be split into groups to play games. The games were actually pretty good. Eight teams, eight games.

I manned the three legged race. I got to line the kids up, crouch down and tie their legs together, count them down and laugh as they attempted to get down the course and back. After the first two groups I learned to tell them to work together and not drag their partner because it would hurt both of them.

All the kids were very good except one who was a nasty little girl. Is it wrong to have been relieved when she fell right away, hurt a finger and left to go to get ice on it?

Three hours in the sun, heat and humidity bending down and tying legs together. To top it off I kept the ties around my shoulders between groups. Some of the groups were soaking wet from the sponge races and water balloons. The ties got wet and I gave myself rope burn on the back of my neck pulling ties off to tie up the kids.

After every group did every game we sent them inside for icepops. But it wasn't until I got home and tried to climb the stairs that I realized that I have got to stop volunteering for things that require three hours of deep knee bends. Ouch.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen