Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2005-01-02 - 3:33 p.m.

If you aren't being smart, being lucky helps.

Yesterday's work tally 11 hours. I ended up leaving before I finished because I had to re-run the process that takes 4 hours. Seemed pointless to sit around for that so I went home and went back today to finish up.

Why did I have to re-run? Because in all my planning I intentionally converted the accounts before running the end of month so I wouldn't have to update the history records. Of course with the new account numbers the system couldn't figure out what values to put in the history records ... Oops!

The lucky part is that I discovered it when I started testing the system (open every window, do every inquiry functions, everything but add or change data). Opened one window and the damn thing failed spectacularly completely shutting the whole application down. So I went looking and discovered the bum history records. Got everything tweaked for the history and reran it overnight. When I went in this morning I tried the same screen and got the same explosive result.

Seems I misdiagnosed the problem. Luckily I thought it was the really hard to see 4+ hour fix causing the problem and got that done last night. Really it was the 5 minute obvious fix that I didn't even notice last night. After I took care of that everything else opened or ran as needed. Total time in today was less than 2 hours, which is good since I needed at least a little time at home.

Now I'm busily trying to catch up the laundry and listening to the boy play with the neighbor children. They are all whining, cheating and being really annoying. I think the key to playdates must just be to stay the heck away unless there is screaming, crying or the sounds of something breaking.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen