Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2004-12-28 - 8:08 p.m.

Going, going ...

Today I woke with a feeling of total panic. I had software conversion on my mind. The users haven't tested for squat on one system and since we keep finding issues on the other much simpler system I know there are problems to be found. I decided that I had to write the dreaded CYA memo. And so first thing in the am I registered my vote of no confidence. I got a snippy email back from the primary user, but in reality she knows they didn't do what they needed to and she immediately got to work. For the first time since we've been running daily (ie: Thanksgiving) she started going through the transactions that were entered and checking them in the new system. And suprise, suprise she found problems. In one case she found an entire transaction type that wasn't even covered. I went downtown to meet with her and we worked through some of issues, then called the people doing the new software for the other ones. Discovered mostly relatively simple fixes. Then got the bomb dropped that today was the last day for test transactions. The end. With one major category of transactions completely untried, and several others with errors I had just gotten fixes for.

January is gonna be ugly.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen