Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2004-10-22 - 1:46 p.m.

If it wasn't Friday I'd probably give up...

I missed a meeting at work yesterday. I had to leave early to visit the shrink. Apparently it would have behooved me to be at the meeting. Several weeks ago I was tasked with finishing a spreadsheet of information for file transfers. I tried to be fairly comprehensive mostly because they were missing things on the original. Since I did this they have apparently made me the contact on all of the file transfer jobs, despite the fact that I have nothing to do with most of the applications involved and I am not in the application support group any more.

Today I got whined at several times for doing my job independently. My boss thinks that the fact that I do my job and interact with the people who need the information is why it's biting me in the butt. I was tasked to facilitate the encryption and transfer of some data. I looked at it and found tables they didn't encrypt that they should have. I sent an email to the person doing the encrypting to finish the job and my boss was not pleased that a) I was doing all the checking (for some reason he thinks it's more appropriate for the SR VP I was working with to handle that) and b) I shouldn't have interacted directly I was supposed to go through him. Unfortunately he's busy enough that he is a black hole for things like that - I'd rather just do what I need to. Sigh.


So I left early yesterday to visit the shrink. It was a weird session. I think I can get an amen on the fact that for the very overweight even if you lose some weight the distance ahead tends to be daunting. I even think most folks will agree that while the studies tout the benefits of a 5% weight loss it just isn't that impressive. Especially when you need to lose 50%.

So apparently she's concerned on my lack of enthusiasm for my accomplishments. She's afraid it will lead to frustration and an inability to continue the progress. Maybe she's right but come on, the loss hasn't brought any changes to my life. The fabulous therapy has also made me realize that even losing everything I want will probably not bring major changes in my life.

So this lead to a bizarre discussion where she mused on the difficulty of determining when people need mood altering drugs while I explained to her why I didn't need any. Call me crazy but I just don't think I need drugs to cope with the regular ups and downs associated with my personality.

Irony is the bumpersticker I saw while I was leaving the office "Heavily Medicated for your Protection."

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen