Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2004-10-18 - 11:31 a.m.

A Bit of Resentment.

I decided my main problem with the weekend schedule was that I totally resented my inability to choose what I wanted to do and still do what I knew to be right. It's a common problem for me. I wish I could just be a selfish little git and do what I want but oh the guilt that brings.

Friday work was work. The evening was a birthday party for hub's brother. That meant I had to forgo my friday evening chores in favor of dinner at SIL's. Dinner was planned for 7ish. We got there 6:15ish. The guest of honor didn't arrive until nearly 7:30 and we didn't dine until after 8:00. Since things were ready for eating at the pre-arranged time several items were a bit over cooked (a distinct difference from the raw chicken of the previous visit). Thankfully the little man didn't complain a bit. We ended up not getting him in bed until fully an hour late.

Pluses - The boy got some quality grandma time. Since the other guests were late, the husband was kind of forced to interact with his parents. The birthday celebrant included the boy in his present opening in a very nice way. He had the boy help read cards and such. It was very sweet.

Saturday - I had to skip fitness class in order to do the chores from friday and the prepwork for having the inlaws over for dinner. The boy had a birthday party scheduled from 2-4 which meant I needed as much ready as possible before we went. It would have been easier to send him with the man, but it was one of my grand-nephew's party so I wanted to go. At 1pm the heavens opened briefly - just long enough to cause the party givers to postpone. The rain then totally stopped causing the party givers to kick themselves for postponing. Selfishly I made out in that deal. Suddenly I had 2 recovered hours to finish the prepwork and even chill for a little bit.

It is inevitable that the floors will need cleaning when there's company coming. It is inevitable that the dog will have some sort of "accident" in the dining room when company is coming. It is inevitable that my husband will spend no less than an hour watching for said company when they are related to him. We said "cocktail time" - 4:30 in inlaw land. Instead mil went to church and they showed at 5:30. My husband wondered if it would be another Bug's Life meal (they come, they eat, they leave).

In the end they came, we had a nice hour's worth of chat. We ate dinner and desert and they left to go have a drink at the hotel before bed. They were there for a couple hours and it was really quite pleasant.

Sunday was the usual early stuff (breakfast and chores) followed by the rescheduled party. Stressful to get to (and crowded) but it was nice to be out and about at the pumpkin patch on a brilliant fall day. Then some needed downtime in the pm (it's pretty bad when I haven't checked home email in a whole week). Followed by the normal evening routine.

Finally we come around again to the work week. T minus 2 weeks to theoretical conversion - still no word on system testing.

TTFN.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen