Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2004-09-10 - 8:38 p.m.

The Dreaded Birthday Party.

I have been working really hard to tell myself that I won't stress out on the boy's birthday festivities. The last couple haven't been too bad, but I don't want to go back to 3 years ago where I worked myself into a horrible frenzy over the whole thing. Still, if it was up to me I'd say no party. But last year was a no party year and we promised him something this year.

He wants a moonbounce in the backyard. Definitely doable, we've done it before. I decide on Sunday afternoon to make the late planning both workable and to try to not interfere with sports.

So far, so good. I'm not stressing.

Tonight, however, I'm considering it. I started the evening very happy as we had our first RSVP in the affirmative. Then the neighbor called needing to decline for her son. Seems there's another party at the same time. In fact the other birthday boy is my boy's first choice invitee for his party. Now I know he won't be there plus there's bound to be some invite overlap.

On one hand I feel bad for my boy, on the other I'm just as glad the favorite invitee can't make it - after all he didn't even invite the boy to his party. I have to keep in mind my little one's point of view - the same point of view I saw at the summer "girlfriend's" party. If there are fun things happening and a friend or two, it's a party.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen