Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2004-08-18 - 3:16 p.m.

A little something.

I'm on my second day of having the boy with me at work. He's been absolutely wonderful. I have a second computer on my desk and he has spent most of the days on Cartoon Network . Com playing games. He's been mostly quiet and, in fact, one of the bosses complimented me on his behavior. I guess the real test is in what the folks who sit around me think - but I don't know if they'd tell me or just talk about me when I'm not there.

It's a tough week at work otherwise. I'm feeling pretty stupid. Being on call and knowing so little about the systems is part of it. I haven't really made much of an effort to get to know the stuff in my new environment. I still log onto my old network. I still work on my old servers. This week I've had to say "I have no idea" more than once. Then I got to tell the next guy in line for on call that I'll be out of town for 3 of my 7 days. Not my fault, but I still feel bad. Like I'm not contributing.

Otherwise things are moving apace. I hosted the first PTA meeting of the year and ended up with 16 people packed into my living room. Way more than I expected. It was a good meeting, too. Somewhat long, though. The participants were kind of unruly.

Lots to do before vacation on friday. I just hope I don't forget anything. I have the things at work all documented and stuck in my ops book. Tomorrow I'll show the book to the next on-call guy. Tonight I'll do some packing as tomorrow night is group - lets hope there's more than me attending!

TTFN

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen