Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2004-08-13 - 9:59 a.m.

Fix-it Mom

Last night I was lonely and abandoned. We had WM group but I was the only one who showed up. Then I did the fitness class afterward and I was the only one there. In the end I guess it just illustrates the core truth - support is fine but in the end you have to rely on yourself for what you need. On the plus side it was like having an extra hour of therapy at a reduced price. And having a personal trainer didn't suck either.

I do have to say, however, that the fitness class kicked my butt. I have met the ultimate ouchy (but good) exercise and it is Pilates. Yowza! Those are some easy moves but they sure pack a wallop.


This morning I came in from the gym and my husband was sitting at the table - it looks innocent enough but as I set down my purse he leapt. Ambushed again. This time it was a backed up drain - don't other husbands deal with this shit? Mine lies in wait for me and then expects me to make it all better. I treated the drain with the pipe cleaner we have then took my shower in the hall bath. I'll check it tonight - treat it again if it's iffy and check it in the am. If it's still off I guess I'll be calling the drain cleaning guys.

Among the other weirdnesses of this were that 1) He cut up his fingers trying to turn the drain cover. He thought maybe there was a way to close the drain like in a bathtub. 2) He totally covered the counter in water somehow. 3) Apparently he noticed previous to this that the drain was slow but never mentioned it. Sigh.


Then as we are leaving (literally) he says "oh yeah, the boy's backpack broke". I acknowleged that because a piece on the strap attachment had broken. The he says can you fix it and hands me a mangled plastic piece. Hmmm somewhat more broken than before - as in totally unusable. "Can you fix it?" he says. WTF? I'm good but I'm not that good. Needless to say we did a last minute swap into the prior year's backpack because that one was officially toast.

I am woman hear me groan.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen