Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2004-07-26 - 10:40 a.m.

A Walk in the Park.

I hauled my behind out of bed early yesterday, did the morning chores and fed the family. Then I zipped up the road to pay for the privilege of taking a walk in the park - but for a good cause, mind you. This was a charity walk to raise money for a group that provides non-health care services for breast cancer patients. Such a cool idea. They can help with babysitting, meals, house cleaning - the kind of stuff no one else covers.

My timing was amazingly perfect. I arrived right behind the husband and several friends of the WM lady I was meeting there. I hung out with her group of friends and we chatted and milled around with the other walkers. At nearly walk time my companion (quite the firecracker) was tired of waiting - so we started. I think we started the walk before the organizers were ready for us to start the walk.

I couldn't keep up with the WM lady, but one of her co-workers and I paced each other nicely. We had a great conversation about exercise and dogs and all sorts of things while walking around the lake.

After we finished the circuit the crew went to breakfast, which I declined having just eaten pancakes. I waited around to hear the raffle numbers. I hadn't been alone more than 5 minutes when I found the other WM lady I was expecting to see. We chatted through the raffles, then it was time to go home.

Today I'm a bit ouchy - not sure if it was the pace or the terrain. Realistically it was probably a bit of both. All in all a very pleasant way to start a day. I rounded it out with reading, and lunch with the family followed by a long afternoon nap. A bit more reading, dinner and munchkin bed time. I followed that with the tear jerker of an Extreme Makeover, Home Edition show and bed.

I'll definitely have to go back to that walking path again some time - the hills are good for the muscles in the rear.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen