Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2004-06-07 - 2:17 p.m.

Tales of the disorganized shrinks.

So I went to the "seminar" about the WM program. There are two doctors. One seems in control, direct, good with a group. The other seems flustered, she has little accent, gropes for words, just appears uncomfortable. So I called back and signed up. My evaluation was set up with Dr. Flustered.

I managed to render the Dr. speechless during the evaluation, but that didn't really suprise me. I'm too direct and too matter of fact about some things that other people dance around. Then we had the group sessions, they didn't change my impression of the doctors at all.

Last week I met the dietician. We did the diet eval and at one point she said "Oh, by the way, there was something else I was supposed to do. The doctors try to see a fairly even number of patients and so I wanted to ask if you would mind switching." I said that was fine and when it was time to leave she scheduled me with the other Dr.

Today Dr. Flustered calls me. She wanted to call about me having been switched. She calls it awkward, she doesn't know how it happened. Normally, she says, the doctor who does the evaluation sees the patient. She didn't want to inconvenience me, but I think she wants me back on her schedule. It was a weird phone call. If they didn't really care, they didn't need to call me. If they had just left me on the other doc's schedule I'd have been none the wiser. As it was she kept saying it didn't matter, but it must have or she wouldn't have been pursuing it.

Me, I couldn't care less. After 1 eval and 1 group I don't have a relationship with either one of them. Put me on the schedule and I'll see whichever. If you need to change my appointment, fine tell me a time. Maybe I am to organized and logical to be a shrink. I think these chicks need a better office manager.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen