Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2004-04-05 - 3:46 p.m.

Dynamics

One of the reasons I like the Survivor TV game is that I love to see how the situation effects the interpersonal dynamics. I've seen so many things in action that I was taught in my sociology and psychology classes. Is there, for instance, any plainer example of the Abilene effect than Rubert's log cabin? It's painful, though, to watch things like that in person. To see people behaving in a really passive aggressive manner and to know what a world of hurt it's gonna bring to them is hard.

I liked the guys I worked with before the changes came. They were ambitious, hard working and easy going. Now they are practically measuring out the rope that will be used to hang them. Today there was a problem that they couldn't deal with, that they never reported to the people who can. It's the sort of thing they used to fix with guidance but right now there is no one there to guide them. They didn't escalate the problem either, they just did nothing.

I put in a good word when I can, but frankly in reality I can do very little for them. And they are in danger but they don't seem to see it at all.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen