Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2004-03-22 - 7:16 p.m.

The worst of me.

Today at the gymn I had gotten halfway through my first circuit when someone slipped in ahead of me. It was pretty crowded so I wasn't too peeved but then she just could not seem to keep up with the station changes.

At the pulse check one of the employees counted down with her fingers for her and it struck me - she's deaf. Here's the worst part I was peeved. My thoughts were pretty much - if she can't hear she ought to pay better attention to the movements.

So I started to be more obvious on the changes to be sure she saw me. Then the employees wandered off so I counted down the next pulse for her. She signed "thank you" one of the 2 or 3 signs I can recognize.

The thing that brought me round though was when another employee came in, touched her shoulder, and signed a brief greeting. This woman's face just lit up. Suddenly I realized what a horribly lonely place the gym must be if you can't hear the music, can't hear the changes and can't have a conversation with the people around you.

Yep I'm feeling pretty damn selfish about now...

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen