Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2004-02-15 - 9:14 a.m.

Hearts and Flowers.

Another Valentines come and gone. I have a really hard time getting into it. The worst is trying to pick out a card for the husband. I'm not hearts & flowers for him so something professing my undying love would be a lie. I usually try not to get the slam cards, though, he deserves better than that. I must say when I was signing the one I bought (after buying it a couple weeks ago) I realized I'd gone way too far on the non-committal side. I could have given it to a co-worker with no bad effects - Sigh! oh well.

I did make the effort to select a book for him as a present. Not one from a list, but one that I read the synopsis of and thought he'd like. The fact that I didn't actually do that until Friday evening is a bit guilt making.

I bought the book prior to a very fine dinner with the best babe. Wrapped it and the chocolate for the boy when I got home and set it all out for the boys when I went to bed (knowing they'd both be up a couple hours before me.)

The husband bought me flowers and a box of godiva. Not suprising he's pretty good with rule based things. Valentines=flowers+chocolates. He understands that equation. It takes no thought at all. The box of godivas illustrates how little he knows me. He bought a box of just solid chocolates. No fun fillings and shapes for me because he wasn't sure if I'd like them. 10 years married as of next week and he doesn't have a clue about my Godiva preferences. Sigh.

On the positive side he liked the book and says it sounds like his kind of plot (but I think he was sad I didn't get him chocolate). The boy loved the chocolate and ate most of it when I told him he could have a little in the morning. (Guess I got carried away, he said).

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen