Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2004-01-20 - 7:35 p.m.

Talking back to the pages.

First off I should say thanks to everyone for the suggestions from that one post. I probably won't get to all the books and such right away, but the diaries I've already perused. One went straight onto the buddy list, two others into my sampling area (IE Favorites). I love checking out new reads. Especially since I've lost some lately to password protection.


For all of those who ponder the pull of reality shows. I have to say I think the attraction is several things. First it's the same one that draws us to Snow White or Cinderella. It's the element of danger. I know American Idol isn't danger but it sure can be psychic danger. Putting yourself on the line. People don't root as hard for the winners unless they can see the hardships involved - in this case Simon tearing them down.

There's also that element of it could have been me. Most of us have accepted that we aren't going to be rock stars or movie stars, or Nobel Prize winners. But we could be might be able to compete for a million dollars. We might be craftier players. Or we can tell ourselves we're better and smarter than the people eating slugs on National TV. It builds us up - not only could we do that, we don't because we're smarter than that. Somewhere some psych or sociology major's PHD will be built on reality TV. It's inevitable.


Invincible Summers.

Theo you've given me some definite food for thought. A lot of who I am makes it hard for me to hold onto those bits of invincible summer. I've been trying to find them all day. Depression, cynicism and several other -isms often make it hard to hold onto the things that are most useful for battling those -isms.

All I can find right now is a spring day when I was 11. I met a boy playing in the woods. We sat on a huge rock hidden in brambles. We were hiding from his little brothers and talking. It was the day I discovered that boys were interesting.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen