Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2004-01-02 - 10:42 a.m.

Social Obligations.

Yesterday I slept in as much as I could bear. I diddled on the computer, played a bit with the boy. I almost forgot but with a crash I remembered that my sister was hosting a little New Year's open house.

Can't say it was the top of my list to do. I had, however, checked out the man's plans and knew I was in the clear. I think my exact words were 'so I can do whatever I want?!' My sister lives around an hour away, kind of far for a little open house. Still, she'd made the trip out here for the holiday so I hopped in the car.

When I got there there were no cars in the driveway. Momentary panic, had I missunderstood? So I drove up, got out and was met at the door by a very relieved sister. She was afraid she was throwing a party where nobody comes.

Turned out to be a most delightful day. My brother came too and my BIL's brother, sister and neice. A small group with lots of good conversation and excellent food. I had no idea my brother had become so cultured. He was talking about the ballet, the Peloponesian war and reading Plato's Republic. Definitely not the kind of conversation I get at home.

A wonderful way to start the new year.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen