Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2003-11-02 - 4:44 p.m.

Indian Summer

No matter how often folks muse on the meaning of the words indian summer, when you're in it you know it. When you grab the shorts you were just about to put away for the winter it's here. And so today was another spectacular indian summer day. Highs near 80, sunny and clear.

It had been my plan to take the river path today, but since the sewage thing had it closed I needed to find another option. I headed down to a park I had driven by often but never been in. Small parking lot and a couple of clear paths with a smattering of walkers and bikers. Very inviting. And so I walked by another chunk of the Patuxent river.

Another riverside park. Reasonably flat gravel path covered in leaves. The forest is different on this walk, the trees are much taller and leggier. The fact that it's fall makes this even more obvious. It's a towering but open feel, all gold and green and grey.

The walk was excellent but for 2 things. First this unusual piece of nature is in the middle of civilization. The highways are never far away and in fact RT 95, the main north south corridor of the east coast, passes overhear on two huge bridges. The traffic noise was a bit distracting. Second I was looking at a large bird house with a huge opening and wondering what type of bird it was for when my foot slipped, my ankle twisted and I did a face plant in the middle of the gravel path. Needless to say I decided not to press on further down the path as I had hoped, but instead gathered my dignity and limped my way the 30 or so minute walk back to my car.

Now I'm only marginally functional limping around and peeved. It seems every time I'm motivated to be active I manage to injure myself. Plus I wanted to see where the path ends up. On my return I did go to the map, and determine where the path should end. Now I just need to heal up and try it again to see if it goes where I think it does.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen