Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2003-10-30 - 1:57 p.m.

Maybe It's Just Me.

I do not like the new boss. I do not like having meetings where I am told that "We're all professionals here" but I am also told I need to come to work with a smile on my face. I do not like a lecture on how we can make these meetings successful. I do not like that the agenda for the meeting included the "Ground Rules"

1. Please ask questions anytime.

2. It is OK to disagree.

3. Help make this a successful meeting.

Bossguy wants to stamp out the ops vs downtown (us vs them) philosophy. He does it by lecturing them - oh yeah, that'll be really effective. I call him on that and ask why our group was all scheduled together on the conversion. Wouldn't we have done better to work with each other? He says it was a scheduling thing, all his fault. (Except I know that he didn't do the schedules...)

Bossguy tells us not to discuss our internal issues with the customer. Our issues within the group must stay within the group. I have known bossguy maybe 3 weeks and my internal "customers" for 5 years - oh yeah I'm sure I'll be going to him first with anything that's on my mind.

Apparently it is too much to ask for me to get a manager who has a clue about managing. At this point I'd settle for a manager who had a clue about how to deal with people.

Just call me queen of the bad attitude.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen