Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2003-02-17 - 5:09 p.m.

I am so NOT lucky.

I live on what's called a flag lot. What that means is that the only part of my yard at the street is my driveway. Often flag lots have houses facing other houses backyards. Mine is a better layout than that - the front of my house faces a band of trees and the back of my house faces more trees. The neighbors share the end of the drive way but our houses are parallel, so they face the same way we do. It's a very cool arrangement most of the time. It doesn't even seem like I live in the 'burbs when the leaves are out.

It is not, however, a good arrangement when you have 2 ft+ of snow. My driveway is huge. We have at least 100 ft before we even get to the neighbors driveway. Then there's another 60 or 80 feet to the road. As of now I have spent 5 1/2 hours shovelling snow today. My husband has spent a couple hours at it as well. We aren't even to the neighbors driveway.

Even worse, the overachieving neighbors (who shovelled all the other snow this year) can't seem to get going on their shovelling. They've gotten their driveway out to the joint driveway done. Then maybe 5 feet or so of the 60 or 80. I'm tired and I hurt, and there's no chance I'm getting out of my driveway tomorrow.

I heard one of the neighbors offer $100 if they could borrow a snowblower. We've thought about getting one, but there's usually not this much snow. I think we might get one now anyway.

On top of this my DH is being lazy (working about half what I have). He even managed to lock me out of the house when he came in for a snack break and I kept working. Then the darling son was so busy watching tv that he crapped in his pants. It was so bad that I had to hose him off in the tub, then scrub him down. Needless to say he has lost his electronics privileges (no tv, computer or gameboy). I'm about done with my family and I'm definitely done with snow.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen