Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2002-12-20 - 3:25 p.m.

Oh here we go a-carolling.

Since so many folks have been putting up their favorite Christmas Songs I thought I'd jump in too. I have the car tuned to the local station that's been playing all "Holiday Songs". I have to say the loud and semi-heavy metal Carol of the Bells is really annoying.

Yesterday I heard an Andy Williams rendition of "Comin' Down the Chimney Down" that took me back to my childhood. My parents never played music in the house except at Christmas. They had 5 or 6 Christmas Albums. The Andy Williams Christmas album was one of them. We had a couple of "Sing Along with Mitch" albums. (The cd's just aren't the same because they don't have the words - how are you supposed to sing along with out them?) I know we had some Orchestral type album too. Then we had my favorite - Herb Alpert and the Tijuana Brass. I played the heck out of that one. Now I have the CD and I play it whenever I get the chance.

It's not traditional but my favorite Christmas Song, "The Bell that Couldn't Jingle" is from that disc:

The Christmas Bell was crying,
and Santa heard it say,
"I just can't seem to jingle,
and I can't go on the sleigh."

Then Santa soon discovered 
the reason that he cried 
the bell that couldn't jingle
it had nothing there inside.

So Santa said "Jack Frost will bring my Christmas Gift to you.
And on Christmas Eve you'll jingle,
Just like you were brand new."

Then Jack Frost froze a teardrop
so each time that he swayed,
the bell that couldn't jingle,
he went jingling all the way.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen