Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2002-12-13 - 4:14 p.m.

Ruminations & Predictions

I've had work to do at work lately. Frustrating, interesting work in my actual job area. It's a refreshing change and I still have work left for next week too. I like having real valid tasks. Unfortunately they all seem to be due a week or so ago.

The political situation at the Ancient and Venerable Bank is quite tense. The Big Man is mandating that things will happen which are at best impossible. I think that by the middle of next year one of 3 things will have happened. Big Man will have lost his job, Boss Man will have lost his job or I will have run screaming.

Today the princess was whiney about how tired she is, and how she hopes that people perceive her as a hard worker. I look at her and see one more mismanaged software project headed up by a non-technical person. She said repeatedly that "she's not losing her job over this" when we discussed the unreal expectations. I'm wondering how that is possible. If you are the lead on the project and the project is doomed to fail you look like the scapegoat to me.

I need some quality mellow time. I just can't bring myself to sit and ponder the tree for very long alone. My husband won't do it, he's been whining about there not being enough time for all his shows (like the world will end if he misses one). Munchkin would, but that's not really the mellow interaction I crave.

I'm also predicting a wildly disappointing Christmas. I could only come up with a couple things for my list (since most of what I want/need is either expensive or in categories DH won't buy) and DH is complaining that he's having trouble finding them. As one of the guys at work says "why doesn't he just get jewelry or something?". Munchkin is busting a seam to tell me what they bought at the store. This morning he said "Let me get this straight, you don't want me to tell you what we bought". Unfortunately I know what they bought because it was the item that was supposed to be offered up as a joint present for his sibling to buy - but when I said it he said no he'd already gotten it. Wonderful - fire tools for the man who burns things is MY present. I wonder if he'll be getting me a train too?

On the plus side, the zipper broke on my winter coat so I took that as a sign from God that I needed to buy the fuzzy purple fake rabbit jacket. Now that I think of it that will be quite a sight - weeble me in a fuzzy purple fake rabbit jacket.

Ho, Ho, Ho.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen