Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2002-10-10 - 12:04 p.m.

Scaredy Cat.

Last Night we had our PTA meeting at a local church (schools are currently closed after hours). I got quite a chuckle out of something that was said to me there. After the meeting the president was remarking that she had hoped that maybe her new neighbor would volunteer to be the coordinator of one committee that we haven't staffed yet. Apparently the neighbor had mentioned wanting to volunteer, and she had hoped she might take up this task. Then the pres wondered if maybe the neighbor was just to shy to volunteer in a meeting full of people. And she looked at me and said "not everyone is brave enough to just jump up and say I'll do that".

It makes me chuckle because they see me as a bold and brave individual for that act. When in fact I'm a confirmed scaredy cat. I went to my first meeting because it was billed as an open house. I'd never have come to a meeting just out of the blue. I volunteered for the web job at the meeting because I had been too terrified to call the principal and volunteer directly. The meeting was a less stressful way for me, so I took it. But because that way would have been more stressful for them I am seen as brave for it.

It's all about perception.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen