Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2002-09-09 - 10:54 a.m.

Was that just a weekend?

I got to work this morning and had a weird feeling like I'd missed a day of work. Except that I didn't. There was just so much weekend in the weekend that it feels like it should have been longer.

So I had the first big road trip in an eon. We got a late start. I missed the exit to 95 and we were so busy talking that we didn't notice for 6 miles. The drive was long but the company was good.

The event was lovely, even with a bit of angst here and there. Next time I really should remember the luggage cart I bought specifically for hauling sca gear. I should also remember that even if I'm staying at the hotel, some sort of flashlight would be a good thing. And more apple pasties! Definitely could have eaten more apple pasties.

My favorite moments of the day were: sitting in the shade chatting with some of my favorite people, admiring the amazing even needle work of a certain Angel of Death, the bony 'spike' hood too!, seeing Nia - what an inspiration!, laughing as hard as I have ever laughed about a conversation that I do not think I could possibly reconstruct but which I will never forget (really it was that surreal), heckling at court (no disrespect intended), and more gentle courtesy and assistance than I've encountered in quite a while.

The best forgotten: the sad look of stress on the faces of newly or soon to be unemployed friends, and unbridled rudeness and inflexibility.

The second list is small, that's a good thing! I've found a really peaceful place about some decisions about which I disaggree and frankly it's given me a much better perspective on service and recognition. Like my sister likes to say - it's mind over matter, if you don't mind it doesn't matter. And it really truely doesn't. And I'm happier because of it.

Now I'm facing the incredible over scheduled week. Today I had a repairman in the morning, work all day, groceries on the way home. Tommorrow I have to haul the munckin to an alternate care site because of primary elections, vote and I think DH is doing a movie. Wednesday is PTA night. Thursday is a deadly combo of family torture night and I have Back-to-School night so I get to cook a big dinner but I won't have time to eat it. Friday is DH's birthday. Saturday is munchies first soccer day (ack! I'm a soccer mom), followed by a quick exit for a weekend road trip to play on trains.

Why am I calm about this? I feel like I should be getting tense. And I had a lovely nightmare that I didn't get my PTA minutes finished before the meeting. I guess I should take care of that tonight ...

TTFN.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen