Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2002-05-25 - 7:20 p.m.

PTA Drama, and a return to my childhood.

So I figured today I'd tell about the amazing and unbelievable PTA drama. For those not yet following the story, I went to my first PTA meeting in March. They had an open house and I figured I'd see what they do. I became a committee head at that meeting.

So they cancelled the April meeting. May they are working out the slate of candidates for next year's officers.

I have some experience with offices from the SCA where I was the local chronicler (secretary) for 3 years and the regional exchequer (treasurer) for nearly 2. So when they said the treasurer designee was not positive she could do it, I said that if she couldn't I would be willing to take it.

Can you say 'fresh meat'?

So the president designee decided she couldn't do it. She tried to mediate some sort of dispute and it blew up in her face. Her words were "I feel like I'm on the school boundary committee". (For those not in the know, my county built a new high school to deal with increased population. The committee that made recommendations on the new school boundaries got nasty letters and bunches of threats.)

So they tried to get me to be next year's president. I allowed as how it was only my second meeting and I didn't really think that was appropriate. So the VP stepped up to Pres and the other lady took VP. (Selection methods are rather squirrelly - there's really no 'call for candidates' and they just ask the people involved.)

So there was a general vote at the Elementary School spring concert. And darned if a guy didn't jump up and start bashing the lady mentioned above. Said she wouldn't be an acceptable vp because she couldn't handle conflict. Someone else jumped up and disputed that.

What should have been an 'all in favor say aye' kind of thing had some guy going off on this poor lady. She just stood there (they had the candidates standing) while this guy got all nasty. Terrible.

In the end mostly Ayes with a couple of Nays. I just wish I could have asked this guy what he had volunteered for during the year. I bet he isn't even a pta member.

Oh yeah, I'm next year's secretary. Whee!


Today was spent helping a friend assemble furniture and empty boxes. A fine schmooze and work kind of day. Takes me back to my childhood where I would always help my sister (the messy one) clean her room.

TTFN

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen