Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2002-03-04 - 8:52 p.m.

Revenge of the Geeks.

So today Doug Humphrey was on the front page of the Washington Post business section. I'm always amused when he's in the papers, especially since he's the only multi-millionare that I've ever met.

He is the friend of a friend. I have, with her, been to dinner with him and gone to an amazing geek party at his former (pre-millionare) home. Actually, he now lives pretty close to where I do.

The thing I treasure, however, is the best encounter with a multi-millionare story ever. My dear Beth had her 30th birthday party at my house. It worked well as it was a great party house (new one is even bigger). There was a big spread of food in the dining room with a couple folks sitting in the living room and most of the party in the family room and kitchen.

To understand the set up, you must know that I have what we in our house refer to as "grown up furniture". When we got married we bought a house then furnished several rooms from scratch. My dining room therefore, has a matched set of cherry queen anne furniture.

So Doug Humphrey, millionare favorite son of Laurel, Maryland sat in my dining room and said (paraphrased, it's been a couple years) - this is nice, I don't know anyone with real furniture.

I always laugh at that. It's the ultimate revenge of the geeks thing.

TTFN.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen